Reflection Day One Monday 10th April 2006

April 11, 2006 kimberley

Today was really exciting for me and at the same time I was very nervous. I was nervous about the whole situation – I was going to be in a room with lots of people I didn’t know. What would happen if I didn’t have the same skills as them, would I get to know anyone, would I find someone I could work with or would I be all by myself, continuing to question my own ability. From the moment I walked into the room, I knew I wasn’t the only person feeling the same. All of the e-Teachers, were together in the same room with the same questions as everyone else. 

As the day went by I realised that maybe it was going to be okay and I did have the skills I needed to go through with this project. I am a person who likes to get told what to do and follow through with the process, until I get it right for that person. This is the way I have learnt, this is my comfort zone, and today was a new process for me. At first I was a bit worried that our presenters/leaders still weren’t clear about our role and what it was that we were supposed to be achieving over the next 3 years. I was becoming confused with all of the language and new ideas that were floating around the room, and I guess a little stressed of what was going to be asked from me. Once again my learnt behaviours were inhibiting me from learning in this new way. I didn’t want to brainstorm and think of ideas, as I guess I was afraid of failure and trying new things. 

As well as being frightened, scared and pushed out of my comfort zone, I was also motivated and excited. I can see this project, a new way of learning and teaching, as a fantastic adventure for me professionally and also for my school and district. As I progressed through the day the technical language slowly seemed to come down to my level. I had a go at tasks and went through the so called difficult things in my head. I began to realise that I did have the skills and ability to work through this project, and i did have the knowledge of the language, even though I didn't think so at the time. I keep telling myself, one step at a time, you can do it.

One of the most important things I learnt from today was to make sure nothing is started without a goal and an ending point. It’s important to prioritise activities, plan my work and all activities to help me move towards exactly what I want to achieve.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  June 14, 2007 at 11:59 am

    You sound hot


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

April 2006
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts

 
